After you apply: There is a 72-hour waiting period before the license is issued. The waiting period begins when the application is filed with the Local Registrar. There is no 72 hour waiting period for a remarriage; however, you must bring a certified copy of your existing marriage.
CIVIL UNION REQUIREMENTS FOR ENTERING INTO A CIVIL UNION:
Not be a party to another civil union, domestic partnership or marriage in this state or that is recognized by this state*
Be of the same sex
Be at least 18 years of age, except that applicants under 18 may enter into a civil union with parental consent. Applicants under age 16 must obtain parental consent and have the consent approved in writing by any judge of the Superior Court, Chancery Division, Family Part.
The civil union license application is to be made in the New Jersey municipality in which either party resides and the license is valid throughout the State of New Jersey.
If neither applicant is a New Jersey resident, submit the application in the municipality where the civil union ceremony will be performed, the license is only valid in the issuing municipality.
Proof of identity by presenting your current driver’s license, passport or state/federal I.D.
Proof of your residency.
Your social security number. (Social security number is required by law for US citizens and will be kept confidential)
A witness, 18 years of age or older.
The $28 application fee.
Any documents in a foreign language must be accompanied by a certified English translation.
* Same sex couples who meet the above requirements and are registered as domestic partners may enter into a civil union with the same person without terminating their domestic partnership first. If the domestic partnership was registered in New Jersey, it automatically terminates when the civil union is registered. If the domestic partnership was registered in another state, that state’s laws determine the impact on the domestic partnership. A couple that has previously entered into a civil union or a same-sex marriage may apply for a Reaffirmation of Civil Union License.
After you apply: There is a 72-hour waiting period before the license is issued. The waiting period begins when the application is filed with the Local Registrar. There is no 72 hour waiting period for a Reaffirmation of Civil Union License however, you must bring a certified copy of your existing civil union.
**APPOINTMENTS ARE REQUESTED FOR THE REGISTRAR’S OFFICE. PLEASE CALL TO SCHEDULE.**
CERTIFIED COPIES OF YOUR MARRIAGE LICENSE OR CIVIL UNION LICENSE ARE AVAILABLE IN THE TOWN WHERE THE CEREMONY WAS PERFORMED If the ceremony took place in Long Beach Township, you can obtain a copy by mail or in person:
BY MAIL: Fill out a “vital records copy request form”, which you can obtain by clicking the link below. Vital Records Request
IN PERSON: Registrar’s office hours are Monday thru Friday 9:00am – 4:00pm. If the ceremony did not take place in Long Beach Township – contact the Registrar in the Municipality where the ceremony was performed for the certified copies. Should you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact me.